Financial Planning Awards 2021

The CISI’s Financial Planning Awards 2021 were held on Tuesday 5 October to conclude the first day of our Financial Planning Conference 2021. Congratulations to all the winners!


The awards were held in recognition of the outstanding achievement of individuals and firms across the UK financial planning professions.

Awards and winners

Accredited Financial Planning Firm™ of the Year 2020: Wells Gibson 
Sponsored by CISI

Accredited Financial Planning Firms (AFPFs) represent the leading firms in the UK financial planning profession. This highly prestigious award recognises the AFPF that has made the strongest impact on the financial planning profession over the previous 12 months.

CFP™ Professional of the Year Award: Francis Klonowski CFP™ Chartered FCSI, owner/sole proprietor Klonowski & Co
Sponsored by the Association of Investment Companies

CFP™ professionals have already proven that they have the knowledge, skills and competence needed to deliver a real financial planning service.

This award seeks to recognise the CFP professional who can demonstrate the best combination of strong technical knowledge along with outstanding financial planning skills.

Highly commended: Josh Butten CFP™ Chartered FCSI, director at boosst.

Paraplanner of the Year Award: Sarah Lees, senior paraplanner, Mazars Financial Planning
Sponsored by JUST

This award is established as the ultimate award for UK paraplanners, whatever their levels of experience. It’s designed to test a paraplanner’s core knowledge and skills and provides a platform for paraplanners to demonstrate their all-round excellence.

David Norton Building Excellence Award: Oak Four
Sponsored by FP Advance

The David Norton award remembers the significant contribution to the financial planning profession made by David Norton, a former chairman and president of the IFP who was passionate about mentoring others.

The award identifies the financial planning firm which could benefit from expert mentoring and business support to help them make that final step up to the levels needed to become an Accredited Financial Planning Firm™.

Tony Sellon ‘Good Egg’ Award: Sandy Robertson CFP™ Chartered FCSI, managing director, Acumen Financial Planning  
Sponsored by CISI

Tony Sellon was a founding member of the IFP and a past president. He was a charismatic character who gave of his time freely to help and support others become better financial planners and to progress the profession. The award is given in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the financial planning profession over the years. 

Individuals are nominated by CISI members and the winner is the individual judged to have contributed most to the financial planning profession, their team/firm, or CISI branch, over the year.

Sally Plant, CISI head of financial planning said: “Congratulations to all of our winners and to those who have been highly commended. Their dedication to the ethos of financial planning shows them as consummate professionals, passionate to deliver life changing guidance to consumers throughout the UK.”

Published: 11 Oct 2021
  • Financial Planning
  • Tony Sellon
  • Paraplanner of the Year
  • Financial Planning Gala Awards
  • Financial Planning Awards
  • David Norton
  • CFP of the Year
  • Accredited Financial Planning Firm of the Year

No Comments

Sign in to leave a comment

Leave a comment