Financial Planning Gala Awards 2019

The CISI’s Financial Planning Gala Awards were held on Monday 30 September 2019 at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. Attendees donated around £5,500 to MQ Mental Health Research Charity. Congratulations to all the winners!

berry n oak

Andrew Pike, head of intermediary relationships, NS&I, presents the Accredited Financial Planning Firm™ of the Year award to Sarah Elson CFP™ APP Chartered MCSI and Andrew Elson CFP™ Chartered FCSI, both of Berry & Oak

The awards were held in recognition of the outstanding achievement of individuals and firms across the UK financial planning professions.

Awards and winners

Accredited Financial Planning Firm™ of the Year: Berry & Oak (main picture above) (Sponsored by NS&I)

Accredited Financial Planning Firms (AFPFs) represent the leading firms in the UK financial planning profession. This highly prestigious award recognises the AFPF that has made the strongest impact on the financial planning profession over the previous 12 months.

Judges' comments:
"This year’s business winner made a significant contribution to the financial planning profession. Many of the firm’s staff have worked closely with a number of schools and universities to encourage and promote financial planning as a profession to the next generation, and their desire to continuously improve as a business was impressive."

Congratulations to the team!

Highly commended: Citywide Financial Partners

CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ of the Year: Christopher Hill CFP™ Chartered MCSI (sponsored by AIC)
CFP™ professionals have already proven that they have the knowledge, skills and competence needed to deliver a real financial planning service.

This award seeks to recognise the CFP professional who can demonstrate the best combination of strong technical knowledge along with outstanding financial planning skills.

Judges' comments: "In addition to his warm and personal approach, this year’s winner had the ability to communicate technical information clearly and directly, which would instil confidence in any prospective client."

Highly commended: Anne McClean CFP™ Chartered MCSI

Winner: Christopher Hill CFP™ Chartered MCSI; award presented by Nick Britton ACSI,
head of intermediary communications, AIC

Paraplanner of the Year Award: Katherine Mock ACSI (sponsored by JUST)
This award is established as the ultimate award for UK paraplanners, whatever their levels of experience. It’s designed to test a paraplanner’s core knowledge and skills and provides a platform for paraplanners to demonstrate their all-round excellence.

Judge's comments: "A person who has demonstrated extensive experience and depth of knowledge. Someone who shows positivity to the paraplanning profession, who regularly goes above and beyond to help others, and demonstrates a commitment to the wider profession."

Highly commended: Samantha Hawken

Winner: Katherine Mock ACSI; award presented by Jacqueline Wilkins,
director of intermediate business development and sales, JUST

David Norton Building Excellence Award: Lexington Wealth Management (sponsored by Dimensional)
The David Norton award remembers the significant contribution to the financial planning profession made by David Norton, a former chairman and president of the IFP who was passionate about mentoring others.

The award identifies the financial planning firm which could benefit from expert mentoring and business support to help them make that final step up to the levels needed to become an Accredited Financial Planning Firm™.

Judge's comments: "The winner of this award has a commitment to excellence in financial planning which is supported by a real passion to bring financial planning to the wider community."

Highly commended: Jane Smith Financial Planning

(The prize for this award includes a year’s mentoring to help the firm achieve Accredited Financial Planning Firm status.)

Winner: Lexington Wealth Management; award presented by David Jones, vice president, Dimensional

Tony Sellon ‘Good Egg’ Award: Francis Klonowski CFP™ Chartered FCSI
Tony Sellon was a founding member of the IFP and a past president. He was a charismatic character who gave of his time freely to help and support others become better financial planners and to progress the profession. The award is given in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the financial planning profession over the years. 

Individuals are nominated by CISI members and the winner is the individual judged to have contributed most to the financial planning profession, their team/firm, or CISI branch, over the year.

Winner: Francis Klonowski CFP™ Chartered FCSI; award presented by
James Sellon CFP™ Chartered MCSI, son of Tony Sellon

Jacqueline Lockie CFP™ Chartered FCSI, CISI head of financial planning said: “Many congratulations to all of our incredible winners and it is a privilege to be able to honour them in this way. They are wonderful ambassadors for our great profession of financial planning. The judges and sponsors send their thanks also to all those who took the time to submit entries and to those who were highly commended.”

Published: 04 Oct 2019
  • Financial Planning
  • Financial Planning Gala Awards
  • Tony Sellon
  • Paraplanner of the Year
  • Gala Awards 2018
  • Financial Planning Awards
  • David Norton
  • CFP of the Year
  • Accredited Financial Planning Firm of the Year

No Comments

Sign in to leave a comment

Leave a comment