Financial Planning Gala Awards 2018

The CISI’s Financial Planning Gala Awards were held on Monday 1 October 2018 at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. Attendees donated £2,850 to the British Heart Foundation. Congratulations to all the winners!


Martin Ruskin CFPTM Chartered MCSI, chairman of the CISI Financial Planning Forum Committee; Keith Mackie CFPTM Chartered MCSI, director, Acumen Financial Planning; Kevin Mackenzie, financial planner, Acumen Financial Planning; Jane Cowie ACSI, financial planner, Acumen Financial Planning; Andrew Pike, head of intermediary relationships, NS&I, sponsor of the AFPF award; and David Gow CFPTM Chartered MCSI, director, Acumen Financial Planning

The awards were held in recognition of the outstanding achievement of individuals and firms across the UK financial planning professions. Rainer Hersch, conductor, pianist, comedian and broadcaster was the host for the evening.

Awards and winners

Accredited Financial Planning FirmTM of the Year: Acumen Financial Planning (main picture above)

Accredited Financial Planning Firms (AFPFs) represent the leading firms in the UK financial planning profession. This highly prestigious award recognises the AFPF that has made the strongest impact on the financial planning profession over the previous 12 months.

This is the second time Acumen Financial Planning has won this award – the first was in 2016. Congratulations to the team!

CFP™ professionals have already proven that they have the knowledge, skills and competence needed to deliver a real financial planning service.

This award seeks to recognise the CFP professional who can demonstrate the best combination of strong technical knowledge along with outstanding financial planning skills.

Paraplanner of the Year Award: Rebecca Tuck APP Chartered MCSI
This award is established as the ultimate award for UK paraplanners, whatever their levels of experience. It’s designed to test a paraplanner’s core knowledge and skills and provides a platform for paraplanners to demonstrate their all-round excellence.

David Norton Building Excellence Award: Balance Wealth Planning
The David Norton award remembers the significant contribution to the financial planning profession made by David Norton, a former chairman and president of the IFP who was passionate about mentoring others.

The award identifies the financial planning firm which could benefit from expert mentoring and business support to help them make that final step up to the levels needed to become an Accredited Financial Planning Firm™.

Tony Sellon ‘Good Egg’ Award: Diane Weitz CFPTM 
Tony Sellon was a founding member of the IFP and a past president. He died tragically of cancer in 2001, yet he is remembered in particular for his sense of fun – a real ‘good egg’.

Individuals are nominated by CISI members and the winner is the individual judged to have contributed most to the financial planning profession, their team/firm, or CISI branch, over the year.

Jacqueline Lockie CFP™ Chartered FCSI, CISI head of financial planning said: “We are delighted to congratulate such worthy winners of this year’s financial planning awards. It shows how good and healthy financial planning is in the UK. The winners are at various stages of their own personal and business financial planning journeys and it is a privilege to be able to recognise the best. We congratulate all the entrants for their hard work and effort that they put in not just for these awards, but on a daily basis to provide great financial planning to their clients.”

Published: 04 Oct 2018
  • Financial Planning
  • Gala Awards 2018
  • Paraplanner of the Year
  • Tony Sellon
  • David Norton
  • Accredited Financial Planning Firm of the Year
  • CFP of the Year
  • Financial Planning Awards

No Comments

Sign in to leave a comment

Leave a comment